Andrew Largeman & C.S. Lewis.

Taking a break from posting the superficial stuff and just sharing what’s on my mind:

So a couple weeks ago, I was listening to my iPod and Coldplay’s Beautiful World had come on. The first thought that immediately came to my mind was the movie Garden State.  It was a movie that I used to watch annually ever since I saw it (except last year). Still can’t remember all the lines and goodies, which is maybe why I can watch that movie over and over again. Or any movie actually. Well with that reminder from the subway, I finally got around to watching it. Started watching it last night but passed out. And so I finished it this morning.

Saw Jim Parsons in it! How predictable for him to play that role. Still.

But there is that one scene in the pool where Andrew shares his theory on “home”, one of the memorable moments in the film.

“It’s like you get homesick for a place that doesn’t exist. “

It kind of reminded me of how there’s just so many people (including myself) that are homeless, that know that there is a place for them but just don’t know where. Zach Braff then follows up with how you create an idea of home for a future family and life and I mean who doesn’t and will that place really be your final destination? It’s true. Everyone has an idea but what will become of it? I guess I kind of related it to our purpose in this life, why we’re here and where our home will be. I actually wrote out a whole lot of stuff but I think in retrospect I’m going to read it and think ‘WTF?’ as I see that it was just another futile attempt at trying to understand things I just won’t. But if home is a person, it’s Jesus.

Which also reminded me of this quote by C.S. Lewis:

“If I discover within myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

Anyways, after hearing that line in the movie, it inspired me to write this short poem/lyric (I always write poems as if they are songs):
I’m home sick for a place I don’t know
A place where I know I belong
Cause where I am just isn’t home anymore
It only collects dust.

 

I guess I just wasn’t made for here.
So where should I go and where do I start?
Feels like a journey that never ends.
Have I even begun?

“This is it” and “this is life”. How simplex.

Man, I missed collecting life quotes.

Leave a Reply

